Health Matters

Health and Wellness applies to everyone. Its influence is infinite. The topic matters. It counts. It affects me. It affects you.

That being said, I want my stories to be compelling. I want people to want to read them. 50-year-olds. 30-year-olds. And perhaps the most challenging audience: 20-year-olds. I want my stories to hold weight in decision making for a reader. I want them to serve as a reference for healthy living and a happy life. I want them to ring true, on some level, to all of the readers.

This starts with writing about important issues. It starts with diving in and submersing myself into my beat in an effort to supply the most accurate and applicable information. It starts with figuring out my groove. What does my work flow look like? How am I going to organize different story ideas and my progress on each of them? How will I be intentional on maintaining professional relationships with important sources?

But most importantly, how am I going to take all the information and research that I have collected and write a compelling story that relates to real people who need information on real problems, anecdotes, trends, and issues?

What do people want to know about? Mental health? Physical health? Nutritional Value? Family Relationships? Beauty?

The topics are endless, but the key is narrowing down my specialty. I need to narrow down my real audience and figure out what they want to know.

I think a really interesting trend story would be the idea of ridding your body of toxins. It has been highly recognized as of late. Basically it is the beginning of a healthy-eating lifestyle change that starts with six weeks of eating nearly vegan. Vegetables. Fruit. Juices. No dairy. No meat. No oils. And no artificial sugars. This is a way of cleansing your body and ridding it of disease, diabetes, rashes, joint trouble, etc.

I think this story idea would be really cool to look more into and develop a lot of information on. It would be interesting to both me and the reader. And is applicable to a huge array of audiences.

 

 

One comment

  1. Definitely good possibilities here, Aimee. For the sake of getting at this as a topic, it might be helpful to think of framing it in terms of how hard it is to eat the way you’re describing. If you have 10 minutes to stop by the Tate Center, what do you do? If you’re on a limited income, how do you get fresh food? How do you find the information you need to devise a menu plan? If you haven’t already, a couple of resources you might look to are http://michaelpollan.com/ and http://markbittman.com/. Bittman’s most recent book is a nice precis linking healthy eating and food policy; he has a motto of being vegan before 6pm, which I’ve tried with limited success.

Leave a Reply

